Photo by Maarit Kytöharju

Composer Maija Hynninen (b. 1977) is working in the areas of concert music, electronic instrument design and multidisciplinary performances. The essence of her music builds on the unique moments where the parameters of this world are slightly altered to allow a glimpse of another reality to be present. It can be a moment where the timbre of purely acoustical writing gives surprising results or when electronics project sounds into another domain, another space and reality.

in the universe everyth ng is a circle (2020)

Heather Roche, contrabass clarinet

Maija Hynninen, electronics


Solace (2022) for violin, electronics, lights and video, Maria Puusaari violin

Starting at 1h 5min

Find my music on